Save Our Assawoman

Coalition for Little Assawoman Bay

Your help is needed!

To keep Little Assawoman Bay a tranquil place for recreation and contemplation, please share your thoughts with the public officials and groups below. Tell them what the bay means to you. Ask them to experiment with shellfish farming in other bays and areas that will not disrupt traditional navigation routes as well as recreational and residential uses. Urge them to find other less obtrusive ways to clean our bays and to create good jobs for Delawareans.

DNREC is charged under the aquaculture law with ensuring that the program does not conflict with other activities, such as boating and recreation. See Solutions and Corps Review for ways that the program can be mitigated.

The page entitled Corps Review
provides details of the Corps of Engineers' review of
DNREC's aquaculture application

Help us Save Our Assawoman for generations to come

Center for the Inland Bays                              CIB Shellfish Report                                    Sea Grant Study


Shawn Garvin, Secretary, DNREC:

 David Saveikis, Director, Division of Fish and Wildlife, DNREC:

Ray Bivens, Director, State Parks and Recreation, DNREC: Raymond.Bivens@

John Clark, Fisheries Administrator, Division of Fish and Wildlife:

John Carney, Governor of Delaware: 150 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, 2d Floor, Dover, DE 19901

John W. Ewart, Delaware Sea Grant Program, University of Delaware:

Sea Grant Information

Edward A. Lewandowski, Coastal Communities Development Specialist, Sea Grant Program:


Thomas Carper, U.S. Senator: 513 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510


Chris Coons, U.S. Senator:  127A Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510



Lisa Blunt Rochester, U.S. Representative: 1406 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515-0801


District Engineer
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Philadelphia District
Regulatory Branch
Wanamaker Building
100 Penn Square East
Philadelphia, PA 19107-3390




General Assembly

Gerald Hocker, Senator, 20th District:

Ron Gray, Representative, 38th District:

Pete Schwartzkopf, Speaker, Delaware House, and Representative, 14th District: Peter.Schwartzkopf@


David McBride, Chair, Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Environmental Control:

Debra Heffernan, Chair, House Committee on Natural Resources:  Debra.Heffernan@ 



Michael Vincent, President, Sussex County Council:

I.G. Burton, Member, District 1:

George B. Cole, Member, District 4:

Samuel R. Wilson Jr., Member, District 3: swilson@sussexcountyde.

Rob Arlett, Member, District 5:


Center for the Inland Bays

Joanne Cabry, Chair:

Chris Bason, Executive Director:



Susie Ball, Chair, Citizens Advisory Committee:


Coalition for Little Assawoman Bay



Please copy John Neylan and Diane Maddex or all of these members on any correspondence.

John J. Neylan, Vice President, King's Grant Condominium Association: (302-541-8339; 703-606-1344)

Diane Maddex, President, Water's Edge Condominium Association: (302-249-5879)

Fred C. Wetzelberger II,
President, Seatowne
Homeowners Association:

Ken Arni, owner at Maisons sur Mer:


John Carroll, President, Salt Meadows Homeowners: 

Jenifer Adams-Mitchell and Mitch Mitchell, owners, Coastal Kayak:

Raymond J. Buckley, President, The Narrows Condominium Association:

Ross Cropper, owner,
Summertime Park:

Janet M. Dubbert, President
Bayville Shores
Condominium Association


                                                                                            Save Our Assawoman



Molly Murray,
News Journal:

Maddy Lauria,
Cape Gazette:

Chris Flood, Cape Gazette:

Laura Walter, Coastal Point:

Rachael Pacella, Wave and Coast Press: rpacella@dmg.gannett.

Coordinated media:





Forthcoming in 2015: Response of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to the submission of hundreds of public comments.

FI State Park map.jpg
I heart FI.JPG

COALITION FOR LITTLE ASSAWOMAN BAY, FENWICK ISLAND, DE 19944   703-606-1344   302-249-5879

Powered by Squarespace. Background image by Diane Maddex